Featured Media

Te Kāwai Taumata appointment process

Te Kāwai Taumata appointment process for Te Ohu Kaimoana directors

29 September 2015

All RIOs, MIOs, RMOs, AHCs

Tēnā koutou

Te Ohu Kaimoana is undergoing a period of change following the 11-year review and recommendations passed by Iwi.

Te Kāwai Taumata met on 23 September to discuss the process for appointing directors on the board of Te Ohu Kai Moana Trustee Limited to fill vacancies as a result of a number of directors’ terms expiring.

At that meeting, I was appointed Chairperson of Te Kāwai Taumata, with Kevin Robinson joining me as Deputy Chairperson.

Te Kāwai Taumata has approved a Position Description (PDF – 116kb) and Assessment Criteria (PDF – 109kb) which will be used in the appointment process – links to these documents are provided with this letter.

I encourage you to distribute these documents to persons who you consider meet the criteria to put themselves forward for nomination – we are particularly interested in receiving nominations from suitable Māori women.

Candidates are required to provide a brief profile to the Te Kāwai Taumata member for your electoral college (see bottom of page for list of Te Kāwai Taumata members).  The relevant dates are:

  • 23 October 2015 – Final Closing dates for nominations to your TKT member
  • 28 October 2015 – TKT meets to assess nominations
  • 23 November 2015 – TKT determines appointment of directors

Depending on the outcome of the nominations process, an interview process may be run between 28 October and 23 November.

Te Kāwai Taumata encourages prospective candidates to self-assess themselves based on the criteria contained within the Position Description.  If the candidate is being supported in this nomination by the iwi or representative Māori organisation, please make this clear in any cover letter provided with the profile.

If you or the candidate have any questions please contact your Te Kāwai Taumata electoral college representative in the first instance.

This information is available on Te Ohu Kaimoana’s website.

Ngā mihi

Mark Ngata
Chairperson, Te Kāwai Taumata

Download a full version of this letter. (PDF – 92kb)

Contact Details for Te Kāwai Taumata Electoral College members

Taitokerau | Kevin Robinson | kevin@terarawa.co.nz

Ngāpuhi | Carol Dodd | rata_place@icloud.com

Tainui | Chris McKenzie | raukawa@hotmail.co.nz

Te Arawa Waka | Heemi Biddle | heemi@tuwharetoa.co.nz

Mataatua | Puhirake Ihaka | puhirakeihaka@gmail.com

Porourangi | Mark Ngata | mngata@npsl.co.nz

Takitimu | Bill Ruru | billruru@gmail.com

Hauauru | Sam Tamarapa | tamarapa.waitara@xtra.co.nz

Te Moana o Raukawa | Iwi Nicholson | ngaiwi@pl.net

Waipounamu/Rēkohu | Joseph Thomas | joseph@dwc.org.nz


%d bloggers like this: