Our Team

32The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District.  From within this national body, representatives are elected onto the Executive Team to advance the vision, mission and goals of the NZ Māori Council within the parameters of the Maori Community Development Act 1962.

The Executive Roles

The chair has the powers necessary to promote and advance the general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council and the efficient operation of the Māori Associations under the Community Development Act 1962, provided, that he is at all times be subject to such directions as the Council may give on any particular matter.

Chair :
Sir Taihakurei (Eddie) Durie

Executive Members :
Tane Cook
Wiremu Puriri
Raewyn Harrison
Henare Mason
Roimata Minhinnick
Archdeacon Harvey Ruru
Ngaio Te Ua
Matt Tukaki